Current Board Members:

President:  Cheri Koochel

Cheri Koochel. LMSW, is the KSSWA President and is a retired School Social Worker from USD  383,  Manhattan KS.

Vice President  Teresa Palmer

Past President:  Barb Meyer

Secretary: Dani Redd

Co-Treasurer:  Becky Hegler

Co-Treasurer: Tracie Chauvin

  Tracie Chauvin, LSCSW is the Coordinator of Social Emotional Learning for Kansas City Kansas Public    Schools. She serves as the KSSWA co-treasurer.

Membership Chair:  Gerri Blaisdell

Member-at-Large:  Stephanie Holloway

Stephanie Holloway, LSCSW, RPT-S, is our KSSWA Board Member-at-Large representative. She has  many years of experience in schools, community mental health and private practice. 

Communications Chair: Katie Berry

Katie Berry, LMSW, is the KSSWA Communications Chair. She is a school social worker in USD 261,  working with students K-12.  She has entered her 11th year working as a school social worker.  Outside of working in the school and helping students and their families, Katie enjoys working on her  family farm, gardening, being outside and reading a good book!

Legislative Co-Chair:  Shelby Burnett

  Shelby Burnett, LMSW, is a school social worker at Tonganoxie Elementary School. She is the Co- Legislative Chair on the KSSWA Board.

Professional Development Chair: Kim Stoeber

Northwest Representative: 

Northeast Representative:  Taylor Kehr and Jess Sholin

Southwest Representative: Lindsey Sill and Carrie Brock

Southeast Representative: Nicole Gilmore

Southeast Representative: Caitlyn Dailey

KSDE Liaison:  Shanna Bigler

Shanna Bigler
  KSDE Education Program Consultant
  Special Education & Title Services
  KSSWA KSDE Liaison

Fort Hays Faculty Liaison:  Rekala Tuxhorn

  Rekala Tuxhorn serves on the KSSWA board as the Fort Hays State University Faculty Liason.

Wichita State University Faculty Liaison:  

Washburn Faculty Liaison:  Kim Harrison

Kansas University Faculty Liaison:  Kelly Jones

Newman University Faculty Liaison: Vanessa Rials

Washburn Student Representative: 

KU Student Representative: 

Newman University Student Representative:

WSU Student Representative: 

FHSU Student Representative: 

Our Mission

KSSWA Mission: KSSWA is a professional organization dedicated to promoting school social workers  through advocacy, professional development and communication within the profession. 

KSSWA History

We were established in 1973 by a group of school social workers and their clients in the educational arena.

Our state association is part of the Midwest School Social Work Council, an eleven state regional organization that works to promote best practice and support social work in education.

KSSWA has a voice in developing policy at the state level, as well as regionally and nationally through our association with the Midwest School Social Work Council and the School Social Work Association of America.

KSSWA's executive board meets four times a year, and we hold a general membership meeting annually.

Constitution and Bylaws

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software